SureShot Happenings

Gordon Setter news and general chatter

Signposts for love

Recently I added an article to our main website on the value of titles by Sandra Mowrey – see it at

http://www.sureshot.ca/Pages/fun/titles.html

In response to her article, someone else made the point that it was the road travelled with the dog that was important and titles were just the signposts long the way.  Both the article and that comment resonated with me because, while I would value a dog regardless of whether or not it had a title, I’ve always felt the achievement alone means a lot.  Not as much about the dog, nor about me, but about the relationship we shared to get there.

This Way

So it is with great joy in my dogs and my relationship with them, I celebrated the seven new signposts we reached in the course of two weekends.

Echo and I reached a milestone with a first place Q in CKC Excellent Standard which finalized that elusive title for her, the first Gordon in Canada to achieve that so far.  I think I was as much relieved as I was happy with her performance that day.  The following weekend at a NADAC trial, she finished her Superior Novice Weavers title with a 1st place in a class of 16 dogs, moving on to the Open levels for her first Q there.  In addition, she also finished her Superior Novice Touch N Go title.  Her new “official” name reflects the many signposts that represent her agreement to humour me and do something that likely makes no sense to a doggy-brain.

Echo, Ch. SureShot Caisteal Sassenach, AgXS, AgIJS, S-NAC, ADC, S-NJC, O-NCC, S-TG-N, S-WV-N, HP-N, TN-N

Echo

Ticket thrilled me all weekend at the NADAC trial because she was so happy just to keep running and jumping (sometimes, actually in the direction I was pointing).  She completed her first Open title in her favourite game Tunnelers and also wrapped up her Superior Novice Touch N Go title.

Ticket, Ch. Drumdaroch SureShot, AgNS, AgNJS, O-NAC, S-NJC, O-NCC, S-TG-N, WV-N, S-TN-N, HP-N, TN-O:

And then Ms. Randomness herself, my brave and effervescent Tatum, picked up her Novice Hoopers title as well as her Outstanding Novice Touch N Go. And, if there was a title for sheer fun, Tatum would be at the Masters level in that one.

Ch. SureShot Paper Moon, AgNS, AgJNS, S-TN-N, O-NAC, NCC, O-TG-N, O-NJC, HP-N:

Tatum with ears flying

No matter what all we manage to accomplish in the, hopefully, many years to come, I will always be glad to know that the time we did have together was spent learning, loving, growing, and most of all in developing as a team.  They really are my special girls.

The same weekend  got even better when I heard that one of last year’s litter ( BIS BISS Am. Ch. Firethorn & Sandpiper Easy on the Eyes x Can. Ch. FCC Ch. SureShot Chosen One, CGN) reached his first signpost by showing real teamwork with his co-owner/breeder Keith O’Flaherty.  That proud little baby, Kole, added a CGN to his name:

Kole, Vanora SureShot Coal Town Boy, CGN:

Kole, the happy heeler

And no, I would never have been as brave as Keith to attempt this with a 10 month old puppy so high fives to both Keith and Kole!

March 19, 2010 - Posted by | Agility, General Dog Chat | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment